Find the second derivative of f(x)=\sqrt{2x^{3}+6x+8}.


Find the second derivative of {eq}f(x)=\sqrt{2x^{3}+6x+8}. {/eq}


When we differentiate the function we find the rate of change of the function with respect to the variable. There are many rules of derivatives like chain rule, quotient rule, etc. Finding the second derivative is not as easy as we have to differentiate the function twice.

Chain rule of derivatives is:

{eq}\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x}f(g(x))=f'(g(x))g'(x)\\ {/eq}

Quotient rule of derivatives is

{eq}\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x}\frac{f(x)}{g(x)}=\frac{f'(x)g(x)-g'(x)f(x)}{(g(x))^2} {/eq}

Answer and Explanation:

$$f(x)=\sqrt{2x^{3}+6x+8} $$

We will differentiate the function using the chain rule of derivatives:

$$\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x}f(g(x))=f'(g(x))g'(x)\\ $$

We will also use the power formula of derivatives:

$$\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x}x^{n}=nx^{n-1}\\ f'(x)=\frac{1}{2\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}}(6x^2+6)\\ f'(x)=\frac{3(x^2+1)}{\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}} $$

Now we will differentiate it using the quotient rule:

$$\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x}\frac{f(x)}{g(x)}=\frac{f'(x)g(x)-g'(x)f(x)}{(g(x))^2}\\ f''(x)=\frac{d}{dx}\left(\frac{3\left(x^2+1\right)}{\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}}\right)\\ =3\frac{d}{dx}\left(\frac{x^2+1}{\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}}\right)\\ =3\cdot \frac{\frac{d}{dx}\left(x^2+1\right)\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}-\frac{d}{dx}\left(\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}\right)\left(x^2+1\right)}{\left(\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}\right)^2}\\ =3\cdot \frac{\left(2x+1\right)\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}-\frac{3\left(x^2+1\right)}{\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}}\left(x^2+x\right)}{\left(\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}\right)^2}\\ =\frac{3\left(x^3-2x^2+11x+8\right)}{2\left(x^2-x+4\right)\sqrt{2x^3+6x+8}} $$

Learn more about this topic:

How to Compute Derivatives

from Saxon Calculus Homeschool: Online Textbook Help

Chapter 20 / Lesson 1

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library

福建福彩网 天水市 永康市 成都市 商洛市 大庆市 镇江市 临夏市 阜新市 巴中市 萍乡市 崇州市 邓州市 平度市 河津市 台中市 衡水市 明光市 凤城市 吉林省 石首市 龙海市 黄石市 叶城市 都匀市 武穴市 朝阳市 青岛市 凤城市 葫芦岛市 仙桃市 合肥市 孝感市 邢台市 兴城市 平度市 利川市 洮南市 信阳市 常州市 宁国市 南阳市 徐州市 北宁市 邢台市 鹿泉市 池州市 北宁市 台中市 华阴市 延吉市 铁力市 兴城市 淮安市 汉川市 东阳市 焦作市 西安市 佛山市 潍坊市 甘肃省